Hey Guys,

Hey guy’s,
Long time no Blog I’m sorry. There’s been a lot of stuff going on with some family health issues. But I hope to be posting a bit more regularly.
I’ve been working on a few projects since last year and I find myself saying “Okay, I like this, but I don’t know how it’s much different from what’s already out there.”
So I don’t know if that’s a factor of being influenced by the stuff I like that already exists and I’m trying to emulate that simply because I connect with it. I’ve been looking at a lot of my own work recently and saying the same thing.
“Okay this story is pretty good, but how do I make it different than what’s out there?”
I want to be more dynamic, but my fear is emulating things that are already published. I’ll give you a better example of this.
I’ve been working on a bunch of different zombie themed stories (No I will never think zombies are cliche, and boring.) and I keep drifting towards the idea of the “Evolving” or “Mutating” zombie. I don’t mean that they get smart enough to drive tanks or do long division. I mean that they start to change physically or some of them do, in order to make them more deadly.
But! I play a lot of video games, and in those games they have zombies that are much different from the rest of the zombie hordes. Some are very strong and durable, some jump on you from rooftops, some even use their mutated tongues to capture people and render them helpless until your team mates come save you. (These creatures are just a few that I’ve encountered playing Left 4 Dead.) Now the “classic” zombie video game Resident evil does something very similar. Zombies that inevitably evolve into much more dangerous creatures.
I kind of like this idea, but I’m not sure what to do with it that’s different, that’s my own. Also I don’t want to hop on the coat tails of these stories, I want to be my own scary monster maker.
I find that I’ve been having a similar issue with working on my sci-fi or post apocalyptic themed stuff. I enjoy writing, reading, and video gaming in it very much, but I have trouble breaking away from the known. Maybe it’s because it feels comfortable?
I’m not sure.
I have an idea for the sci-fi themed idea that I’m sort of slowly starting to flesh out. I also have a long love of Dungeons and Dragons as well. There’s such an expansive universe within D&D that it always just blew my mind as a pre-teen, and as a teen. I think there is such a good chance to blend sword and sorcery and starships and galactic adventure. They aren’t that different from each other. Look at Star Wars (Which is pretty much the reason I started writing). It’s very similar to mythic fantasy (Seriously go read Joseph Campbell’s The Power of Myth, and Hero with a Thousand Faces).
Hmm.. maybe I should go re-read them?
Anyway I think I’m good in developing a hybrid of that without them having Lightsabers or stealing anything from one of the D&D rulebooks.
I may have a better handle on Post-Apocalyptic themes. I liken Post-Apocalyptic times to much like a combination (In spirit mind you) of many of Clint Eastwood’s Western Movies, and looking back toward world history in a few key eras. Mainly the Dust Bowl Period in America during the 1930’s, and the Middle Age Period. Plus throwing in mutants, and ruined cities, and other good stuff.
Anyway, that’s what’s been on my mind.
More to come.
Later guys,

About wshonchell

I write, work and live in Pa.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

